An Important Message

Hi all. I am technically currently on a self-imposed social media ban, including WordPress, but I just saw a video that was so beautiful and important I felt the need to share.

A year ago, Chrissy Amphlett, lead singer of The Divinyls, passed away from breast cancer. Before she died however, she apparently shared her vision for the repurposing of her most popular and successful song I Touch Myself.

Originally a song about, well, essentially masturbation, she wished for the song to become an anthem for women to self screen for changes in their breasts. Now, on the anniversary of her death, that dream has been realised. Ten Australian female performers, including Olivia Newton-John, Kate Cebrano and Katie Noonan have gotten together to perform a beautiful a cappella version of the song.

Since my laptop decided to go to computer heaven, the motherboard boarding the mothership to the afterlife, I am writing this post via the wp app on my phone. Since its not as spiffy, i’m not sure how to imbed the video or if I even can so I shall just leave the link below and hope you all go watch. Warning, you will see boobs at the very end.

Thanks all, and I will see you again eventually when I return properly.

I Touch Myself Project

One thought on “An Important Message

  1. Thank you for this link! One of my best friends was diagnosed with breast cancer just a few weeks ago, so this hits especially close to home for me.

Feel free to comment here!

